April 2024 Member Spotlight

Tracy Davis, RHIA, CPMA, CRC

Professional Shares

Where do you work and what is your job title?
I work at Arkansas Children’s as the HIM Manager.

What certification types have you received or are seeking to receive?
I received the RHIA and hope to sit for the CCS one day.

Which college/university did you attend?
I attended the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences for my Associates Degree and the University of Cincinnati for my Bachelor degree.

What made you decide to pursue a career in HIM?
My father who was an academic advisor for UALR told me about this new program that started with their partner collage UAMS covering the skills of a medical records technician. I was right out of high school and did not have a clue what all was involved in that profession, but I knew this was the career for me after my first semester in the program.

What other jobs and/or titles have you held prior to the present one?
I’ve held many jobs/titles in the HIM field which got me to where I am today: Medical Records assembly clerk, Medical Records Analysis Clerk, Outpatient Coder, Inpatient Coder, Contract coder, HIM System Coordinator and Coding/CDI manager.

What are some of your responsibilities at your current position?
My responsibilities consist of organization of the work duties and provide training for my direct reports which are the CDI specialist and coders. I also perform revenue cycle management of coding matters that may arise with denials, audits, and documentation completeness. 

What do you enjoy most about your job?
I enjoy knowing how important my job is in helping children. A great number of people in Arkansas has been touched in some way by Arkansas Children’s Hospital. It brings me joy knowing I work for an organization that positively impacts so many lives.

Personal Shares

What is your favorite food?
I love seafood. I’ll take some crab legs any day of the week.

What’s something about you (a fun fact) not many people know?
I’ve walked in the Little Rock Marathon several times, because I love their medals.

What’s your favorite family tradition?
Anytime my entire family get together over my parent’s house for dinner.

Who had the most influence on you growing up?
My parents had the most influence on me as many of my traditions, beliefs, and behaviors was first introduced to me by them. My twin sister has also been a huge influence as my biggest cheerleader from birth.

What was the first concert you ever attended?
Boyz to men, but they didn’t show. I eventually got to see them when they came back years later.

What’s something you want to do that you’ve never done before? 
I would like to go to Las Vegas and binge watch all the Cirque du Soleil shows.

What’s the best advice you’ve ever heard? 
Make every attempt to be humble and kind, because most people don’t care what you know until they know that you care.

Do you like to cook? If so, what is your favorite thing to cook?
I don’t like to cook every day, but when my mood is right baked spaghetti smothered in cheese is my signature dish.

If you could get on a plane tonight and travel anywhere in the world, where would you go?
I would fly to a five star resort with world class food located on a white sand beach. My suite must have a breathtaking view of the crystal blue ocean.

Where is one place in Arkansas you would suggest people to visit?
I would suggest Murray’s Dinner playhouse or The Robinson Center Music Hall because I love seeing live theater and musicals.

Any other personal tidbit(s) you want to include?
I see every day as a blessing, which makes this one of my favorite quotes. “Don’t count the days, make the days count.” – Muhammad Ali